Lords of The Fallen: Return of a Forgotten title

Lords of the Fallen is an upcoming action role-playing game developed by Hexworks and published by CI Games. It is a reboot of the 2014 game of the same name, which was inspired by the Dark Souls series. Lords of the Fallen is set to release in October 2023 for PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X/S, and PC.

A Do-over for a series


The original lords of the Fallen was a good game, but it was never able to achieve widespread success. This new entry is a complete reboot of the series and after the recent preview event looks like it will has potential to be a great soulslike and finally gain mainstream success.

World and Setting

Lords of the Fallen is set in a dark fantasy world called Mournstead, where a demon god named Adyr has risen to power after a thousand years of slumber. The player takes on the role of a Dark Crusader, one of the few warriors who can challenge Adyr and his legions of corrupted followers. The game features a vast, interconnected world that is split between two realms: Axiom, the land of the living, and Umbral, the realm of the dead. The player can travel between these realms using a lantern device that can also manipulate the souls of enemies.



The game’s combat system is fast, fluid, and challenging, requiring the player to master different types of weapons, magic, and ranged abilities. The player can customize their character’s appearance, stats, skills, and equipment from a wide array of options. The game takes the Bloodborne approach to dodging with a dash when locked on and roll when out of lock. Lord of the Fallen bring a lot of innovation to the souls formula in the form of its dual world system where both the worlds flow into one another seamlessly. If you hit a dead end in Axiom that’s your cue to solve a puzzle in Umbral. It also has a highly interconnected world where some areas are only accessible through one world.


Lords of the Fallen offers nine starting classes to choose from and a tenth if you get the deluxe edition, if you own the standard edition then you have to unlock it through gameplay. Each class has their own strengths and starting gear but know that this does not stop you from specing into other stats. Here is a brief overview of each class:

Blackfeather Ranger

The first class in the game is the Blackfeather Ranger. Centered on range combat, this class can use multiple types of arrows to fire at enemies from a distance. However, it is stable able to manage up close.

The starting items of for the Blackfeather Ranger are: Axe, Bow, Oak Arrows, Poison Arrows, Light Shield, Medium Armor.


Condemned is the classic ‘Wretch’ class for Lords of the Fallen. Starting off with nothing, you will need to really level grind and find the best weapons in Lords of the Fallen to be able to survive past the early hours. As such, only those looking for the hardest challenge should choose the Condemned.

The Condemned starting items are: Broken Bucket Fist Weapon, Throwing Rocks, Light armor.

Dark Crusader

The Dark Crusader is an unlockable class in Lords of the Fallen. It is a strong melee-focused class able to use the heaviest and strongest of weapons. It is also able to withstand an onslaught of enemies, making it great for tanking damage.

The Dark Crusader’s starting items are: Crusader Greatsword, Crusader Heavy Armor, Rosary Catalyst.

Exiled Stalker

The Exiled Stalker is an advanced class for those with a lot of experience with soulslikes. Requiring precision, mastery, and skill you will need to use your stealth and damage to sneak up on enemies and land critical blows.

The Exiled Stalker’s starting items are: Two Daggers, Medium Stalker Armor, Throwing Daggers, Poison salts.

Hallowed Knight

Focusing on health, endurance, and survivability, the Hallowed Knight is one of the easiest classes to pick up and play. It is a jack of all trades, able to use grenades and tools, maintain a defense, and also deal solid damage.

The Hallowed Knight starting items are: Short Sword, Knight Shield, Heavy Armor, Grenades, Healing-over-time consumable.

Mournstead Infantry

The Mournstead Infantry is a melee-focused class, with a lot of range and defense to help support them when up close. Initially, it has relatively low damage but it can scale with Strength, high defense, and improved weapons as you upgrade and improve.

The starting items for the Mournstead Infantry are: Spear, Light Shield, Heavy Armor, Throwing Javelins, Healing-over-time consumable.

Orian Preacher

Religion permeates all aspects of Lords of the Fallen and the Orian Preacher is a evangelist of the Orian church. Meant for experienced players, this class delivers weighty, impactful hits, breaking the will of enemies and using spells to heal and buff themselves.

The starting items for the Orian Preacher are: Hammer, Light Shield, Radiant Catalyst, Healing Radiance Spell, Light Armor, Small Manastone consumable.


The Mournstead Knight champion, the Partisan is able to wield a variety of weapons from a flail to a crossbow, carrying a shield on their back too. They are able to buff stamina with Unripe Berries and are therefore meant to press the attack relentlessly, with great defense too.

The starting items for the Partisan are: Flail, Knight Shield, Crossbow, Heavy Armor, Unripe Berries.

Pyric Cultist

An advanced class and a fervent worshipper of Adyr, the Pyric Cultist is focused on spells, magic, and mana. They have a high amount of damage with the game’s three types of magic and can use spells more often than other classes. However, the focus on magic means it isn’t the easiest class to use for newcomers to soulslikes or the game.

The starting items for the Pyric Cultist are: Cultist Staff Polearm, Rhogar Catalyst, Infernal Orb Spell, Medium Armor, Small Manastone consumable.

Udirangr Warwolf

The Udirangr Warwolf is an offensive class focused on dealing high amounts of damage and using tools to destroy enemies. As a brute, you won’t have much in the way of defenses so all-out attack is the way to go.

The starting items for the Udirangr Warwolf are: Long Sword, Throwing Axes, Medium Armor, Fire Salts.

After the recent preview Lords of the Fallen has received a lot of positive attention from various media outlets, praising its graphics, gameplay, world design, and character customization. The game is expected to be one of the most ambitious and immersive Soulslike games ever made, offering a rich and rewarding experience for fans of the genre.

If you enjoyed this post, be sure to check out more content on Poggers Memes. Check out Remnant 2 article to learn more about souls like shooters.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *